Board of directors

The TFV benefits from the leadership and guidance of a five-member Board of Directors elected by the ASP for three-year terms. The five seats are distributed according to the five major world regions. Each member serves in an individual capacity on a pro bono basis.

Every year the Board of Directors convenes in the Hague for its Annual Meetings. The lists of decisions taken by the Board during the past three years are available below (pdf):

9th Annual Meeting (March 2012): English & French
10th Annual meeting (March 2013): English & French
11th Annual Meeting (March 2014): English & French

The TFV's current Board is composed of the following five members:


  • His Excellency, Mr. Motoo Noguchi - Elected Chair of the Board of Directors -

    (Japan, Representing the Asian States)

    Motoo Noguchi is Chair of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims at the International Criminal Court since 2012. He was previously prosecutor in Japan (1985-1996), professor at the Research & Training Institute of the Ministry of Justice (1996-2000), counsel at the Office of the General Counsel of Asian Development Bank (2000-2004), professor at UNAFEI (2004-2012), international judge of the Supreme Court Chamber at the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC, 2006-2012), legal advisor to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on international criminal justice (2004-), and Director of International Cooperation Department of the Research and Training Institute (2012-2014). At present he is a prosecutor at the Supreme Public Prosecutors Office in Tokyo. Noguchi graduated from the University of Tokyo, faculty of law (1983) and the Legal Research and Training Institute of the Supreme Court of Japan (1985). He was visiting scholar at University of Washington, School of Law (1992-93), visiting professional at the ICC (2005), visiting fellow at Yale Law School, Schell Center for International Human Rights (2006-07), and visiting professor at the University of Tokyo, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (2009-).

  • Mr. Sayeman Bula Bula

    (Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Representing African States)

    Mr. Bula Bula is a professor of International Law at the University of Kinshasa and was an ad hoc Judge at the International Court of Justice from 2000 -2002 and a Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration from 2001-2013. Professor Bula-Bula served as an international expert to the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (1996-1998) and carried out the duties of regional representative of the African Human Rights Network/Justice and Protection (1990-1995). He is a Member of the Editorial Board of the African Yearbook of International Law since 2003.

  • Mr. Denys Toscano Amores

    (Ecuador, Representing the Americas and Caribbean States)

    Dr. Toscano Amores is currently the Director at the Inter-American System of Human Rights. He has served as Vice-president of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Program and Population Fund (2001-2003). From 2008-2012, he was the Alternate Representative of Ecuador to the Organisation of American States.

  • Ms. Elisabeth Rehn

    (Finland, Representing Western European and Other States)

    Ms. Rehn has served as a member of the Finnish Parliament, a member of the European Parliament, the first female Minister of Defence, and the Minister of Equality Affairs. She is also an independent expert for the United Nations and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Finland on peace building, conflict management, and United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325. She has served a first term on the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims from 2009-2012, during which she was elected as Chair.

  • Her Excellency, Ms. Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga

    (Latvia, Representing Eastern European States)

    As President of the Republic of Latvia from 1999 to 2007, Ms. Vīķe-Freiberga was instrumental in achieving membership in the European Union and NATO for her country. She was an official candidate for United Nations Secretary-General in 2006 and is active throughout the international arena as a defender of liberty, equality and social justice. She has served a first term on the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims from 2009-2012.