The TFV benefits from the leadership and guidance of a five-member Board of Directors elected by the ASP for three-year terms. The five seats are distributed according to the five major world regions. Each member serves in an individual capacity on a pro bono basis.

Every year the Board of Directors convenes in the Hague for its Annual Meetings. The most recent lists of decisions taken by the Board are available below (pdf):


The TFV's current Board is composed of the following five members:

Sierra Leone, representing African States
2021 - current

Ibrahim Sorie Yillah is a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of Sierra Leone. Ibrahim has practiced law locally and internationally. Ibrahim was admitted to the Sierra Leone Bar in 1998. As a Barrister in Sierra Leone, he has appeared before all courts in Sierra Leone namely; the Magistrate’s Court, High Court, Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court.

Estonia, representing East European States
2021 - current

Mr Parmas is a lawyer with both academic and practical experience. He has spent most of his professional life working in Estonian judiciary, first as a legal officer at the Supreme Court and later as a judge in the appellate court. Since 2020 Mr Parmas holds the position of Prosecutor General of Estonia. He has been teaching criminal law at the University of Tartu since 2003.

Ireland, representing Western European and Other States
2015 - current

Before being appointed to his current role, Kevin served as Ambassador of Ireland to the Netherlands and Special Envoy of the Government of Ireland to Africa for Ireland’s campaign for election to the UN Security Council. (2016 – 2021)

Dominican Republic, representing Latin American and Caribbean States
2020 - current

Ms Tavárez Mirabal is a philologist and politician internationally recognised for her extensive work and commitment to democracy, justice, the defence of human rights and the fight for equality and non-discrimination. 

Bangladesh, respresenitng Asian States
2018 - current

H.E. Sheikh Mohammed Belal has been serving as Ambassador of Bangladesh to the Kingdom of the Netherlands with concurrent accreditations to the Republic of Croatia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina since March 2014. Ambassador Sheikh Mohammed Belal was elected as a member of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims of the International Criminal Court for three years with effect from December 2018. The Bureau of the Assembly of States Parties appointed him as "Facilitator for the Trust Fund of Victims" for the term 2015-2016. H.E.